2008 Hotel Visionaries Announced

Press enter to search
Close search
Open Menu

2008 Hotel Visionaries Announced


Since 2005, Hospitality Technology has been recognizing visionary lodging companies for their outstanding achievement in technology innovation, particularly as it relates to fostering operational excellence and providing an exceptional guest experience. These Hotel Visionary Awards are presented each year at the annual Hotel Technology Forum.

 "Consumers have become increasingly technology-savvy and expect greater levels of personalized service during their hotel stay. The lodging industry continues to strive to exceed guest expectations, and the hotels selected for the 2008 Hotel Visionary Awards are leading the way," says Abigail A. Lorden, editor at Hospitality Technology and the architect behind the awards program.

The 2008 Hotel Visionary Awards go to: The Peninsula Hotels, for Outstanding Achievement in In-Room Innovation; Fairmont Hotels and Resorts for Exceeding Guest Expectations; and MTM Luxury Lodging for Overall Technology Innovation.

"We are honored to receive this recognition from Hospitality Technology," says MTM Luxury Lodging partner and SVP James Simkins. "We view technology as an essential element in enabling superior service in the industry today and are committed to providing our customers, including guests, staff and our owners, with the tools that enhance the MTM experience."

Hospitality Technology received its highest number of nominations for the awards this year, with more than 40 hotel companies being either self or third-party nominated. The nomination pool was comprised of many highly-accomplished and forward-thinking hotel companies, making this year's competition the toughest yet. Winners are judged by HT editorial staff on a basis of innovation, thought leadership, and forward-thinking vision.

"Selecting the three winning companies for the Hotel Visionary Awards becomes an increasingly difficult task for Hospitality Technology's editors, as the pool of esteemed nominees continues to grow in size and accomplishment each year," says Lorden. "It's our pleasure to recognize this year's winners for their efforts."