Skip to main content

Trump Creates Economic Revival Industry Groups

On April 14, 2020, President Trump announced the creation of 17 Great American Economic Revival Industry Groups. The bipartisan groups – comprised of leaders of major players in a variety of industries including restaurants and hotels – will work together with the White House to “chart the path forward toward a future of unparalleled American prosperity.” The groups range from agriculture and banking to healthcare and manufacturing.

The hospitality industry is split among two groups: Food & Beverage and Hospitality. Still in its infancy, not much is known about how these groups will work. However, some news outlets are reporting that the groups will collaborate with the White House via conference calls.

During the press briefing, President Trump mentioned that he had already spoken on the phone with many members of all 17 groups. 

"Today, I spoke with the leaders of many of our nation’s most renowned companies and organizations on how to achieve the full resurgence of the American economy," he said. "My discussions included top leaders in health and healthcare, transportation technology, financial services, food, beverages, hospitality, real estate, retail, agriculture, construction, energy, labor, manufacturing, and sports industries. [...] These experts and innovators provided extremely productive feedback on how to safely reboot our economy.  They gave us a lot of great ideas."


Food & Beverage


  • National Restaurant Association – Marvin Irby

Las Vegas Sands Corp. – Sheldon Adelson


  • McDonald’s – Chris Kempczinski

Marriott – Arne Sorenson


  • Darden Restaurants – Gene Lee Jr.

Carnival – Micky Arison

  • Coca-Cola – James Quincey

Hilton – Christopher Nassetta

  • PepsiCo – Ramon Laguarta

Hyatt – Mark Hoplamazian

  • Chick-fil-A – Dan Cathy

Wyndham Hotels & Resorts – Geoff Ballotti

  • Subway – John Chidsey

Intercontinental Hotels Group –
Elie Maalouf

  • Bloomin’ Brands – David Deno

Royal Caribbean – Richard Fain


  • Papa Johns – Rob Lynch

Norwegian Cruise Lines – Frank
 Del Rio

  • YUM! Brands – David Gibbs

Treasure Island Hotels – Phil Ruffin

  • Wendy’s – Todd Penegor


  • Waffle House – Walt Ehmer


  • Starbucks – Kevin Johnson


  • Wolfgang Puck


  • Thomas Keller


  • Jean-Georges Vongerichten


  • Daniel Boulud


  • M Crowd Restaurant – Ray Washburne


  • Jimmy John’s Founder – Jimmy John Liautaud


  • Kraft – Michael Mullen


  • National Association of Wholesaler-Distributors – Dirk Van Dongen


  • International Franchise Association – Robert Cresanti


  • Inspire Brands – Paul Brown





This ad will auto-close in 10 seconds