Skip to main content

Deadline Extended! Submit Your Nominations for the 2023 MURTEC Breakthrough Awards

Restaurants, we want to hear your tech success stories. Deadline to submit your nomination has been extended until August 10. Winners will be notified after August 15.
Advertisement - article continues below

The deadline to submit nominations has been extended.  Now through August 10 Hospitality Technology (HT) magazine is accepting nominations for the 2023 MURTEC Breakthrough Awards, which honor restaurant companies for outstanding achievement in business innovation. Sponsored by Fortinet, a developer of network and cybersecurity solutions, the awards are presented to operators for leveraging groundbreaking technology and innovative strategies to improve customer engagement and/or the overall enterprise.

Now in their 17th year, the MURTEC Breakthrough Awards will be presented at the MURTEC Executive Summit, a sister event to MURTEC (Multi-Unit Restaurant Technology Conference).

Submit your nominations here

“In the ever-evolving culinary world, we celebrate the indomitable spirit of the restaurant industry. With relentless innovation and a tech-savvy touch, you continually elevate the art of delivering extraordinary guest experiences,” says Courtney Radke, Field CISO for Retail and Hospitality, at Fortinet.  We applaud your unwavering commitment to harnessing technology's power and fusing it seamlessly with your unmatched expertise to captivate customers' hearts and palates. It is with great pride and admiration that Fortinet presents The MURTEC Breakthrough Awards, an honor bestowed upon those who embody excellence in revolutionizing the restaurant industry.”

 “Whether it’s workforce, supply chain, safety and security, or the array of guest-facing and operational challenges that restaurants are addressing, technology has truly transformed our industry in recent years,” says Hospitality Technology’s Editor-in-Chief Robert Firpo-Cappiello. “The 2023 MURTEC Breakthrough Awards will recognize restaurant companies that continue to push the boundaries of what tech can do for brands and their customers.”

MURTEC Breakthrough Awards are given in two categories:

Enterprise Innovator – This is presented to the company that has leveraged a specific strategy or technology beyond standard practice to improve overall restaurant operations. Results should reveal an increase or marked improvement in efficiency, cost savings, etc. Areas of innovation can include but are not limited to: back-office and/or front-of-house applications, labor management, point-of-sale technologies, cloud computing, and enterprise-grade mobile applications.

Customer Engagement Innovator – This is presented to the company that has leveraged a specific strategy or technology to increase guest satisfaction, loyalty, and/or brand reputation. Potential concepts can include but are not limited to: mobile applications, social networking, loyalty and CRM.


  • Restaurants can nominate themselves
  • Technology vendors can nominate a restaurant but are not eligible themselves for an award. 
  • Winners must be present to accept the award at the MURTEC Executive Summit.
  • To nominate a company, please fill out the nomination form here
  • Deadline for nominations is now: August 10, 2023
  • Winners shall be notified after August 15, 2023.
  • Awards will be presented at the  MURTEC Executive Summit 


The  MURTEC Executive Summit, held October 2-4 at Charleston Place Hotel in Charleston, S.C., is produced by Hospitality Technology and is a sister event to MURTEC (Multi-Unit Restaurant Technology Conference). MURTEC Executive Summit is where restaurant leaders from across the organization -- in both technical and non-technical roles -- unite to see their future through the lens of strategic technology. 

This ad will auto-close in 10 seconds